bplasas.blogg.se

Colt new agent talo 9mm
Colt new agent talo 9mm








colt new agent talo 9mm
  1. #Colt new agent talo 9mm full#
  2. #Colt new agent talo 9mm series#

The screws and bushings were too short to try alternatives. The slim grips had changed the profile of the gun, as well as my grip on it. I wondered, though, why that had happened. Once I corrected my finger placement, the gun got in the black. I was over reaching the trigger, and shoving the muzzle over with the trigger stroke. I wondered what could be causing that, and then I noticed my finger placement on the trigger. The pistol seemed to be grouping low and to the left for me. I continued to blast lead down range with the New Colt. Perhaps I will paint the channel red white. The lack of contrast in the gutter sight was detrimental. The result is an accurate pistol with quick sights. I had a dentist friend press some gold filling stuff in the recess of the Compact's front sight. On the Colt Compact I have a Ted Yost retro rear sight paired with the stock Colt front sight. Perhaps that was due to my unfamiliarity with the gutter sight, but those were my results. If anything, the sighted pistol had the edge in speed. The New Agent did not come to sights for me quicker than the Compact. The Colt Compact also ate the New Agent's lunch on accuracy, not surprising since it has sights. Perhaps as the New Agent is used a while, it will rival the Compact in ease of presentation. I swapped over to a Don Hume JIT, and I experienced the same results. I was using a hand made IWB holster similar to a Summer Special. In addition, the Teflon coated Colt Compact was quicker out of the holster. The Ed Brown grip safety, the polished frame, and the additional weight all combined to make the Colt Compact a relative pleasure to shoot and the New Agent a handful by comparison. The modified Colt Compact had a definite edge on shooting comfort though.

#Colt new agent talo 9mm full#

After a few single shots, I progressed up to a full magazine. I started off with my usual drill, making certain the light weight Colt, even though new, was safe to fire. I brought my Colt Compact along for comparison.

colt new agent talo 9mm

I planned to shoot a variety of hardball, along with some Gold Dots and HydraShoks. I gathered up some ammunition, stuffed my Colt Compact in my holster, and took the New Agent to the range. For a defensive weapon, the lack of that trigger overtravel screw is a blessing. There was no creep, and no overtravel screw to adjust. The trigger was crisp and about four pounds. Then I spent some time dry firing and trying to get used to the sighting system. Once I had my New Agent home, I cleaned and properly lubricated it. The trough is not meant for accuracy so much as it is meant for speed. The idea behind the "gutter sight" is a snag free, quick to acquire sighting system. The New Agent lacks conventional sights, relying on a 2mm channel cut along the top of the slide. What makes the pistol unique in Colt's line-up is the sights.

#Colt new agent talo 9mm series#

The New Agent is a Series 90 pistol, incorporating Colt's patented firing pin safety. The mainspring housing is plastic and the frontstrap is serrated. The thumb safety is the same little nub as was present on the M1911. The grips are slim grips, with a double diamond pattern that is pressed rather than sharply cut. The pistol has a blued slide atop an anodized frame. The barrel length is three inches, and it carries 7+1 rounds of 45ACP. The Colt New Agent is an Officer's ACP sized pistol with an aluminum alloy frame. When I finally realized the price was the same as a used Lightweight Commander, I broke down and purchased my first new gun in several years.

colt new agent talo 9mm

It took me several days to decide to purchase Colt's dedicated carry gun, even after I had found a nicely priced example at a gun show. For a while, I had secretly lusted over Kimber's dedicated concealed carry pistol, but I never could get past the Series II thing. It was a pistol designed to take Kimber's Ultra RCP and smack it down to the CCW mat. In the Summer of 2007, Colt released a pistol to little fanfare.










Colt new agent talo 9mm